top of page
20230502_192420 mod.jpg

Christophe Gogniat

BIOGRAPHIE

As I was born in Neuchâtel canton, I experienced both town and country life throughout my childhood before going on to study computer programming and work in the Lausanne region. I later moved to the Riviera region of Vaud canton and then to the Chablais, where I have been living with my family since 2018.

In the first part of my life I wasn’t much interested in art; I preferred technical subjects and quite forgot the pleasure I’d had in childhood after school or during the holidays exploring flora and fauna in the great outdoors.

The change came about in 2006 when I began travelling and discovered other cultures and other horizons. My way of thinking changed as I developed an interest for the aesthetic aspect of things. Until that time I took very few pictures, and only as a means of keeping souvenirs. But now, especially as I had acquired my first reflex camera, I saw photography differently.

Having only a very basic knowledge of photography, I taught myself for a while and later took part in workshops with numerous professional photographers. I began practising my new skills by taking pictures of landscapes during my travels. I began doing portrait and studio photography in 2013, but then went on a long journey abroad and didn’t go back to it when I returned.

It was in 2016 that I started my second specialization in photography, which is macro/proxy, and since then I’ve been alternating between landscapes and macro. It was also in 2016 that I became increasingly interested in post-processing techniques to bring my shots into line with my artistic vision. It was only in 2022, however, that I first thought of exhibiting my pictures. I held my first exhibition the following year.

Today, through photography, I have found again that contact with nature that I had as a child. I’m not so sure, though, whether I travel the world in order to take pictures or if it’s my love of photography that gives me an excuse to travel the world.

Artistic approach

Ever on the alert for a special spirit in my landscape photography, I pay particular attention to strong contrast between light and shadow, while yet conserving harmony between the two. In macro/proxy photography my approach is slightly different, since there I seek to integrate my subject in its natural surroundings while maintaining a balance between subject and background.

In my pictures I aspire to bring out the interplay of elements, especially of water, mineral, and vegetable elements. Although I was born under a fire sign, it is water that fascinates me and I enjoy combining its movement and dynamics together with the fiery colours of autumn.

After several years of playing only with composition and contrast, nowadays I include more balance in the use of colour in my pictures, particularly regarding combinations of warm and cold tones. The main component of my pictures, however, and the one I still consider most essential, is light.

Exhibitions

- June 16 to August 27, 2023  Collective multidisciplinary exhibition on the theme of “Sol Vivant” (living ground), Galerie de Madame T, Valangin, NE.

- August 26-27, 2023  Salon de la photo Pic’s Day, photography on the them of  « La Montagne et ses Ambiances » (the mountain and its moods) Pavillon des Mangettes, Monthey, VS.

- October 20-22, 2023  Festival Salamandre - « Migrations », an exhibition at the gallery of the artists of the festival, on the theme of  “L’Odyssée de l’Eau” (the odyssey of water),  Théâtre de Beausobre, Morges, VD.

Publications

  • Annual calendar 2020 of the Kudelski Group on the theme of “Landscape”, picture for the month of May

  • Annual calendar 2022 of the Kudelski Group on the theme of “Water reflexion”, picture for the month of October.

  • Annual calendar 2023 of the Kudelski Group on the theme of “Bridges of all kinds”, picture for the month of October.

  • Picture to head the website page for https://www.nagra.com/business-activities (Kudelski Group)

COPYRIGHT INFORMATION

Re-Visionary symbol: I leave my work free of copyright so that it can be shared among people who wish to reproduce it in the spirit of the Collective, as long as they indicate me as author.

Copyright symbol: I am the copyright holder of my own works: my work cannot be reproduced, except by the Re-Visionary Art Collective, under the conditions as indicated above in point 1. Unless I give my written consent.

CONTACT

Christophe Gogniat

Ollon

+41 (0)79 671 62 60

 contact@christophegogniat.com 

facebook

instagram

bottom of page

top of page
20230502_192420 mod.jpg

Christophe Gogniat

BIOGRAPHIE

Né dans le canton de Neuchâtel, j’y ai vécu toute mon enfance entre ville et campagne avant de poursuivre mes études en informatique et de travailler dans la région lausannoise. Depuis, j’ai quitté celle-ci pour la riviera, puis le Chablais où je réside avec ma famille depuis 2018.

Je me suis peu intéressé à l’art dans la première partie de ma vie, préférant les domaines techniques et oubliant un peu le temps de mon enfance où je partais à la découverte de la flore et de la faune après l’école ou durant les vacances.

C’est en 2006 que le changement s’opère avec mes premiers grands voyages où je découvre d’autres cultures, d’autres horizons;  ainsi ma façon de penser change et je m’intéresse à l’aspect artistique des choses. Jusque-là, je faisais peu de photo et uniquement afin de garder quelques souvenirs. Mais à partir de cette année et suite à l’acquisition de mon premier appareil photo réflex, j’ai considéré la photographie sous un nouveau regard.

N’ayant que peu de connaissances en photographie, je me forme en autodidacte dans un premier temps, puis participe à plusieurs workshops avec de nombreux photographes professionnels. Je commence à pratiquer lors de mes voyages et à photographier des paysages. En 2013, je commence la photographie de portrait et de studio, mais suite à un long voyage, je ne poursuis pas dans cette voie.

Je débute en 2016 ma deuxième spécialisation en photographie qui est la macro/proxy. Depuis, j’alterne mes sujets entre paysages et macro. C’est aussi à cette période que je m’intéresse de plus en plus aux techniques de post traitement afin d’aligner mes prises de vue à ma vision artistique.

C’est seulement en 2022 que je commence à envisager d’exposer mes images, ce qui se concrétisera l’année suivante avec mes premières expos.

Aujourd’hui grâce à la photo, j’ai retrouvé ce contact avec la nature que j’avais quand j’étais enfant. Cependant, contrairement à mes débuts, je ne suis plus certain si je parcours le monde pour la photographie ou si c’est la photographie qui me donne une excuse pour parcourir le monde.

Démarche artistique

Toujours à la recherche de belles ambiances en photographie de paysage, je privilégie les forts contrastes entre ombres et lumières tout en préservant une certaine harmonie entre ces deux mondes. En macro/proxy, ma démarche est un peu différente du fait que je recherche plutôt une intégration de mon sujet dans son milieu naturel tout en gardant un équilibre entre lui et l’arrière-plan.

J’aspire à mettre en valeur dans mes images la combinaison des éléments naturels entre eux et notamment l’eau, le minéral et le végétal. Bien qu’étant d’un signe de feu, je privilégie l’eau en recherchant son mouvement et son dynamisme que j’aime combiner avec les couleurs de feu de l’automne.

Ayant longtemps joué que sur la composition et le contraste, je rajoute aujourd’hui dans mes images un certain équilibre au niveau des couleurs, combinant les tons chauds et les tons froids. Mais la composante principale de mes images reste la lumière que je considère comme essentielle.

Expositions

- Du 16 juin au 27 août 2023  Exposition collective multidisciplinaire sur le thème « Sol Vivant », Galerie de Madame T, Valangin, NE.

- Du 26 au 27 août 2023  Salon de la photo Pic’s Day, photographe exposant sur le thème « La Montagne et ses Ambiances », Pavillon des Mangettes, Monthey, VS.

- Du 20 au 22 octobre 2023  Festival Salamandre - « Migrations », exposition à la galerie des artistes du festival sur le thème « L’Odyssée de l’Eau », Théâtre de Beausobre, Morges, VD.

Parutions

  • Calendrier annuel 2020 du Kudelski Group sur le thème « Landscape », image illustrative du mois de mai.

  • Calendrier annuel 2022 du Kudelski Group sur le thème « Water reflexion », image illustrative du mois d’octobre.

  • Calendrier annuel 2023 du Kudelski Group sur le thème « Bridges of all kinds », image illustrative du mois d’octobre.

INFORMATIONS COPYRIGHT

Symbole Ré-Visionnaire:  Je laisse mes œuvres libres de droit afin qu’elles puissent être partagées entre personnes qui souhaiteraient les reproduire dans l’esprit du Collectif, dans la mesure où ils m’indiquent bien comme auteur. 
Symbole Copyright:  Je suis détenteur du copyright de mes propres œuvres : mon travail ne peut pas être reproduit, hormis par le Collectif d’Art Ré-Visionnaire, dans les conditions telles qu’indiquées ci-dessus au point 1. Sauf accord écrit de ma part.

CONTACT

Christophe Gogniat

Ollon

+41 (0)79 671 62 60

 contact@christophegogniat.com 

facebook

instagram

bottom of page